Code of Ethics for the Smart Destinations Network

The Smart Destinations Network will have its own Code of Ethics consisting of 5 principles and 10 commitments for its members (owners, institutions and companies), as explained today at its Executive Committee Meeting, chaired by the Secretary of State for Tourism, Fernando Valdés.

The Code of Ethics of the DTI Network, to which adherence will be mandatory for all members, aims to set out a number of key principles that all its members must incorporate into their daily interactions and as part of the relationships they establish with the ecosystem of public and private agents that interact directly with the Network.

This Code of Ethics has been based on existing international standards, such as the Global Code of Ethics of the World Tourism Organisation (UNWTO) and other valuable regional references that could be potentially applied to tourism development, such as those promoted by theRegion of Valencia and the Basque Country, and different papers by leading national institutions.

The five principles of the Code of Ethics for the DTI Network are responsibility, a commitment to actions that promote responsible and sustainable tourism for the benefit of everybody and with a particular emphasis on technology; transparency, dialogue as an instrument of cooperation; excellence in the management of material and human resources; sustainability, through the conservation of tourist resources; and inclusion, a commitment to inclusive tourist activities taking diversity into consideration.

The Code of Ethics for the DTI Network is subject to the final approval of the Plenary Meeting of the DTI Network on 10 June; from that moment on, the Code will be available on the smart destinations website.

New members of the DTI Network

The Executive Committee of the DTI Network has approved the inclusion of 45 new destinations, taking the total number of members of the DTI Network to 528, of which 370 are regular members; 66 are institutional members; 89 are companies and 3 are observers.

The Network’s new destinations are: Alajeró, Alora, Arucas, Astorga, Boiro, Cabra del Santo Cristo, Calafell, Calahorra, Cañete de las Torres, Castellar de la Frontera, Cazorla, Cehegín, Cieza, Coaña, Covaleda, Hinojosa del Duque, Jimena de la Frontera, La Matanza de Acentejo, Las Regueras, Las Rozas, Los Barrios, Malgrat de Mar, Manilva, Mucientes, Níjar, Pamplona, Parada de Sil, Porto do Son, Riaño, Ribeira and San Juan de Aznalfarache.

As well as San Martín del Castañar, Santoña, Sotillo de la Adrada, Zorita de los Canes; the island council of Formentera, the Cuadrilla de La Guardia-Rioja Alavesa; the provincial councils of Burgos, Toledo and Valladolid; and the associations of municipalities, Campiña Sur Cordobesa, Servicios del Valle Norte del Lozoya, Servicios Turísticos del Noroeste de Murcia: the Raíces de Castilla tourist association and Valle del Guadiato association.