The Smart Destinations Network incorporates its first international destinations

The Smart Destinations Network has today added its first international destinations: Tequila in Mexico and Medellín in Colombia. These destinations will be able to participate in all work sessions and meetings arranged by the Network and will be in the full observer members category, due to the growing worldwide interest in the Smart Destinations programme launched by the Spanish Government.

To the Minister for Industry, Trade and Tourism, Reyes Maroto, “The participation of cities outside Spain in the Smart Destinations Network is excellent news, as it gives this network greater international projection. Smart Destinations will have a noteworthy role in transforming tourism into a more digital, sustainable, accessible and safe model, while we in the Spanish Government will promote these destinations within the framework of the Plan for the Modernisation and Competitiveness of the tourism sector, which is planning the roadmap for the recovery of tourism and will be assigning over €3.4 billion in European funds over the next three years.”

Smart Destination Executive Committee

Both Tequila and Medellín have been assessed in accordance with the Secretary of State for Tourism’s Smart Destination methodology, developed by SEGITTUR, who have today awarded the mayor of Medellín, Daniel Quintero, the first Smart Destination designation in Colombia, after being evaluated on over 400 requirements within the model’s five categories.

The Smart Destinations Network Executive Committee has meanwhile met today and approved the incorporation of 34 new destinations, including the Group of Spanish World Heritage Cities and all the cities within this group.

Among the destinations added to the Smart Destinations Network today are the local governments of Alcudia, Antigua, Ávila, Baeza, Cambrils, Cangas de Narcea, Córdoba, Écija, Frigiliana, Guía de Isora, Guijuelo, Granada, Ibiza, La Adrada, La Oliva, Madrigal de la Altas Torres, Mérida, Mogán, Pájara, La Palma del Condado, San Cristóbal de La Laguna, Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Santiago de Compostela, San Esteban de la Sierra, Santiago del Teide, Segovia, Tarragona, Teguise, Tías and Úbeda, plus La Palma, Menorca and Cáceres.

The incorporation of these new destinations takes the Smart Destinations Network to 232 members, of which 153 are destinations, 43 are companies and 31 are institutions.

During the Executive Committee meeting, chaired by the Secretary of State for Tourism, Fernando Valdés, the work carried out over the course of 2020 was discussed, demonstrating the starring role the Smart Destinations Network played and its transformation into a meeting point to share experiences, concerns and initiatives.

During 2020, the Smart Destinations Network created guides to reactivate tourism in destinations, semantics manuals adapted to the COVID era, a directory of technological solutions and many other initiatives, the objective of which has been to animate the sector during this difficult time.