The Executive Committee of the Smart Destinations Network reaches 270 members with the addition of 19 new destinations

The Executive Committee of the Smart Destinations Network has today approved the addition of almost 20 new destinations, taking its total number of members to 270: 173 destinations, 40 institutions and 57 companies.

The Secretary of State for Tourism, Fernando Valdés, who chaired the Network’s Executive Committee, welcomed the new members and stated that it was “Excellent news that the network is continuing to grow, as it reflects the interest and added value generated in the destinations by this initiative.”

The Network’s Executive Committee is chaired by the Secretary of State for Tourism and has three Vice Chairs: one organisational position held by the SEGITTUR chairman and two institutional positions held by representatives of the Spanish Federation of Municipalities and Provinces (FEMP) and It also features nine representatives from eight destinations: Benidorm, Calvià, San Sebastián, Pontevedra, Arona, Palencia, Santander, Avilés and San Bartolomé de Tirajana.

The new members of the Smart Destinations Network include the local councils of Barcelona, Logroño, Jerez de la Frontera, Alcantarilla, Alhaurín el Grande, Cebreros, Cuéllar, La Nucía, La Navia, San Fernando, Santa Pola, Siles, Son Servera, Villaluenga del Rosario and Yaiza, as well as the provincial councils of Albacete, Barcelona and Gipuzkoa and the Costa del Sol-Axarquía municipalities.

During the Executive Committee, other internal regulation changes were also approved with the objective of streamlining the incorporation of new members, given the growing interest in the initiative of local councils, provincial councils and management bodies.

The Smart Destinations Network, which was created on 27 February 2019, aims to promote a new frame of reference to make the Spanish tourism model more competitive.