Maroto awards nine destinations a Smart Destination designation

The minister for Industry, Trade and Tourism, Reyes Maroto, awarded the Smart Destination designation to nine destinations during Fitur.

These destinations were Palma, Murcia, Puerto del Rosario, Salamanca, Torremolinos, Campo de Gibraltar, Los Alcázares, Osuna and Peñíscola.

The Smart Destinations project is an initiative vigorously promoted by the Secretary of State for Tourism to contribute towards making Spanish destinations more competitive.

Destinations receive the designation following the production of a diagnostic report, which assesses over 400 requirements of Smart Destination methodology, divided into five categories: governance, innovation, technology, sustainability and accessibility.

This pioneering project is aiming to drive the digital transformation of destinations and tourism areas in Spain.

According to the Secretary of State for Tourism, the work these destinations have performed to become Smart Destinations “Represents an investment in the development of sustainable tourism and brings with it a series of benefits, including an enhancement of the destination through innovation and technology, increased competitiveness, improved efficiency, higher quality stays for visitors and a better quality of life for residents.”