SEGITTUR presents its Guide for Best Practices in Innovation for Smart Destinations

SEGITTUR today presented the Guide for Best Practices in Innovation for Smart Destinations, which highlights around 40 outstanding actions in tourism innovation.

Promoting innovation in tourism means using a lever to improve tourism processes and services, reinforcing resilience and the ability to respond to new challenges, serving as a basis for the deployment of diversification strategies, promoting the development of capabilities and an increase in the culture of innovation in the sector, as stressed by the President of SEGITTUR, Enrique Martínez, during the presentation of the event at the Cotec Foundation.

Innovation, as a tool at the service of tourism management, has been incorporated into the Smart Destination model as one of the five axes on which it is supported, along with governance, technology, sustainability and accessibility.

The Guide has a dual goal: it presents the main drivers and facilitators of public innovation available to local entities, showing the most disruptive elements at the service of local administrations, and highlighting their application in tourism, as is the case of public procurement in innovation or sandboxes or urban laboratories.

These tools also include the Smart Destination Platform that will provide interoperability to the offering of public and private services to tourists. A platform that will allow all agents to interact with tourists in a digital, smart and scalable way. This platform will also be designed in a modular way, in such a way that components can be added progressively and will allow the development of new shared solutions, such as cloud services, providing these solutions to tourist destinations with common needs and diagnoses.

The Guide’s second goal is to compile about 40 best practices developed in destinations such as Lloret de Mar, Benidorm, Athens, Valencia, Murcia, Santander, Caravaca de la Cruz, Puerto del Rosario, Barcelona, ​​Bayona, Hondarribia, Valladolid, Pamplona, ​​Adeje, Donostia-San Sebastián, Malaga, La Costa del Sol, Granada, Castelldefels, Logroño, Gijón, Elche, Segovia, Ponferrada, Torremolinos, Seville, Teruel, Torrevieja, Malaga and Paris.