Ten new destinations have begun the process of becoming Smart Destinations

Ten new destinations have begun the process of becoming Smart Destinations, following the Smart Destination methodology designed by SEGITTUR for the Secretary of State for Tourism.

The destinations which have begun working with SEGITTUR this year are Fuengirola, Ayamonte, Logroño, Cangas del Narcea, Rincón de la Victoria, Ponferrada, Chiclana de la Frontera, Almuñécar, Campo de Gibraltar and Águilas.

The process begins with a meeting in which experts from SEGITTUR explain the methodology and work plan to local authorities, followed by personalised interviews with each of the areas of the local government as well as with social stakeholders and the sectors directly and indirectly linked to tourism.

The work is based around the Smart Destination methodology, which assesses over 400 requirements within the five categories for a Smart Destination: governance, innovation, technology, accessibility and sustainability.

The results of the meetings and analysis of the information provided by all the agents involved are used to assess the level to which the destination complies with each category. This will serve as the basis for the diagnostic report and the action plan to turn it into a Smart Destination.

Following this, SEGITTUR awards the destination a Smart Destination designation, provided that it meets 80% of the analysed requirements, or a Smart Destination associate designation, if it meets under 80% of requirements.

In both cases, the destinations must continue working on their action plan, as this methodology involves continuous assessment.

A destination becoming a Smart Destination adds value to the destination through innovation and technology, bringing with it increased competitiveness and improved efficiency, as well as a boost to the destination’s sustainable development, in terms of environmental, economic and socio-cultural areas.